June Tidings: Nova Scotia Pulse


ashley web June Tidings: Nova Scotia Pulse Congratulations to Ashley McKenzie, whose short film When You Sleep screened at the Cannes Film Festival as part of their Canada: Not Short on Talent program, featuring 25 short films from directors across the country.  The full story can be found here!









32nd Atlantic Film Festival Call for Entries June 15, 2012 – Final Submission Deadline

Submissions may be fiction, documentary, animation or experimental of any length. Only films completed no more than 18 months prior to the 32nd Atlantic Film Festival will be considered for admission. Preference will be given to submissions that have not been distributed theatrically or broadcast on television in the Atlantic region prior to the 2012 Festival. Entry fee is $30. You can fill out our entry form online at www.withoutabox.com or download the form from our website at www.atlanticfilm.com and mail it in with your entry.

If you have any questions, please contact the Festival:

Toll free:  877.611.4244 T: 902.422.FILM F: 902.422.4006 E-mail: programming@atlanticfilm.com For more information visit http://www.atlanticfilm.com/sites/default/files/32nd_aff_entryform2.pdf


AFCOOP Filmmaker in Residence 2012 Call for Entries Deadline: June 11, 2012, 5pm

The AFCOOP Filmmaker in Residence (FIR) program will provide a filmmaker with the resources and guidance to create a completed work with the support and participation of the AFCOOP community.

The Applicant must be an experienced filmmaker and must have created at least three independent film or video works, have previously exhibited at least 3 separate film and/or video works in a professional context, have completed basic film training appropriate to their discipline/filmmaking process, have been practicing for at least four years, not including time training, have been living in Nova Scotia for at least 6 months prior to the application deadline and be a citizen of Canada or a landed immigrant, not be a full time or part time student at any level during the residency, and be able to commit to the project for a period of up to six months.

For its part, AFCOOP will provide services and expenses for the proposed project (up to $4,000 in direct ‘cash’ costs of the project, up to $11,000 in AFCOOP equipment and facility rentals, and staff and organizational support and a supportive community in which to work).

Application form and details available here: http://afcoop.ca/programs-and-training/afcoop-filmmaker-in-residence-2011-call-for-entries/fir-guidelines-and-application-2012-3/


Parrsboro Film Festival 2012 Deadline for submission is September 1, 2012

If you are a film maker in Atlantic Canada, whether professional, student or amateur, we invite you to submit your short films to the 2nd Annual Parrsboro Film Festival.  A jury will select films in two categories: – shorts (more than 5 minutes but no more than 20 minutes) and – short shorts (no more than 5 minutes)

The audience favourite in each category will receive a certificate of appreciation.  Deadline for submission is September 1, 2012. We cannot guarantee that submissions received after September 1 will be eligible for this year’s festival. Our theme is films made recently (within the last 2 -3 years) in Atlantic Canada. Any genre will be considered. There is no submission fee.

For more information visit https://sites.google.com/site/thehallsitelogic/films-for-all-at-the-hall-1/parrsboro-film-festival/pff-submission-form


NS Pulse is compiled by Chris Pauley. Chris is a composer and the owner/operator of Evil Twin Music. He has been playing music since he was a kid, and writing music for the media for nigh on fifteen years. Check out his work at www.eviltwinmusic.ca, on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/EvilTwinMusic and on Twitter @EvilTwinMusic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>